Number 5 in Hebrew is denoted by  Heh - a picture of the window through which we can see the future and the other side from where you are. 

In Greek it is Epsilon


The Meaning of Numbers: The Number 5


The number 5 symbolizes God's grace, goodness and favor toward humans and is mentioned 318 times in Scripture.  

Five is the number of grace, and multiplied by itself, which is 25, is 'grace upon grace' (John 1:16).

The Ten Commandments contains two sets of 5 commandments.
The first five commandments are related to our treatment and relationship with God,
and the last five concern our relationship with others humans.

The number 5 in Biblical numerology symbolizes the creation of God, as the person has five fingers, five toes and five senses.




There are five primary types of offerings God commanded Israel to bring to him. They are the Burnt Offering (Leviticus 1; 8:18 - 21; 16:24), Sin (Leviticus 4; 16:3 - 22), Trespass (Leviticus 5:14 - 19; 6:1 - 7; 7:1 - 6), Grain (Leviticus 2) and Peace Offering (Leviticus 3; 7:11- 34).


There were five sacrifices portrayed in Gen. 15:9 by which the promise to Abraham was secured: a heifer, a goat, a ram, a dove, and a pigeon. These typified Christís sacrifice on the cross to secure the promises for mankind.


Appearances of the number five


The Book of Psalms is divided into five major sections.
Section 1 (Psalm 1 to 41) refers to the Passover, Israel's beginning, and the start of the God's plan of salvation that centers around Christ.

Section 2 (42 to 72) sings about a unified Israel in the land and pictures the creation of the New Testament Church.

Section 3 (73 to 89) bemoans the destruction of both God's Temple and Jerusalem. This section also hints at prophecies regarding the End Time Great Tribulation.

Section 4 (90 to 106) rejoices over the 1,000 reign of Jesus and shows Israel gathered again.

Section 5 (107 to 150) pictures a time when Judah (representing all Israel) shall again be delivered.

Number 5 seen in God's tabernacle

The 'tabernacle in the wilderness' profoundly reflects God's grace in its use of the number 5. This tabernacle, whose design was given directly by God,

contained five curtains (Exodus 26:3),
five bars (Exodus 26:26 - 27),
five pillars and
five sockets (Exodus 26:37)
and an altar made of wood that was five cubits long and five cubits wide (Exodus 27:1).

The height of the court within the tabernacle was five cubits (Exodus 27:18). 


The Holy anointing oil (Exodus 30:23 - 25), the ingredients of which were given directly by God, was used to consecrate the furniture of the tabernacle. It was comprised of five parts, for it was a revelation of pure grace. The proportion of spices used in making the oil were a multiple of five, which then had a Hin of olive oil added to it.

Pure Myrrh, 500 shekels 500 = 5X100

Sweet cinnamon, 250 shekels 250 = 5 x 50

Sweet calamus, 250 shekels 250 = 5x50

Cassia, 500 shekels 500 = 5 x 100
Olive oil, 1 hin

5 reveals the grace of God

 Gen 43:34  Benjamin received 5 times more than his brothers

 Gen 45:22  Benjamin received 5 changes of clothing from Joseph

 Num 18:16  Redemption price was 5 shekels of silver

 Matt 14:17  5 loaves of bread fed 5000

 Matt 25:15  The good steward received 5 talents and gained 5 more.

Additional info on the Biblical Meaning of 5

There are five books in the Bible that contain only one chapter
2John, 3John, Philemon, Jude and Obadiah.


Moses wrote five books.

Dream Statue of King Nebuchadnezzaar

Babylon's King Nebuchadnezzar was given, by God, a dream where he saw a giant statue of a man. This statue, according to the interpretation of Daniel,
 represented 5 periods of world-ruling empires.

The statue's head of gold represented Babylon (Daniel 2:32, 38)

The Chest and Arms of Silver symbolized the Persian Empire (Daniel 2:32, 39)

The Belly and Thighs of Bronze (brass) represented the Macedonian Empire under Alexander the Great

The Two Legs of Iron symbolized Rome's Empire (Daniel 2:33, 40 - 43)

The Ten Toes of Iron mixed with Clay are the successors to the Roman Empire (Daniel 2:41 - 44) 


The five wounds of Jesus on the cross.


The five wounds comprised:
one through each hand or wrist,
one through each foot,
and one to the chest.


The five parts of the clothing remaining of Jesus during his crucifixion after the soldiers had made four parts of his dress, plus his tunic which they did not tear. (Jn 19,23)


Saint Paul declares that by five times he received the 39 lashes from the Jews. (2 Co 11,24)


The five unwise and five wise virgins of the parable of Jesus. (Mt 25,1)

 The five porticos of the pool of Bethesda. (Jn 5,2)

 The five pebbles which made it possible to small king David to kill the giant Goliath.

 The five kinds of animals that God asked Abraham to present to him to conclude with him an alliance: a heifer of three years old, a goat of three years old, a ram of three years old, a turtledove and a young dove. (Gn 12, 5-18)


 The five books of the Torah (the Law) according to the Judaism that corresponds to the number of the first books of the Bible.
The book of the Lamentations of Jeremiah contains also five chapters.